Pantry Shelf Chocolate Orange Cake

This recipe is absolutely delicious, hence I have made it twice this year already, I have made it with both sweet orange marmalade and raspberry conserve. They are both gorgeous and only get better with time. Daniel prefers this cake on day three, it gets moister and more crumbly, the flavour of the jam also gets sweeter over time. The recipe calls for a 8″ spring form tin, which until this weekend I didn’t have (Thanks Gran & Grandad), so I have made it successfully in a 23cm spring form and a basic 20cm cake tin. This recipe is from Nigella Lawson’s How to be a Domestic Goddess, a present from my Mum. This cake makes becoming a domestic goddess seem almost possible.

Pantry Shelf Chocolate Orange/Raspberry Cake

1/2 cup unsalted butter

115g Lindt 70% dark chocolate

1 1/3 cups good quality, thin cup marmalade / raspberry jam

1/2 cup caster sugar

pinch of salt

2 large eggs, beaten

1 cup self raising flour

Preheat the oven to 180′. Melt butter in a saucepan over a low heat, when it is nearly melted add in chocolate and remove from heat, stir until smooth. Into the saucepan add marmalade/jam, sugar, salt and eggs and stir with a spoon until combined, beat in flour bit by bit. Pour into a greased and lined baking tin no bigger than 23cm. Bake for 50 minutes, checking with a skewer at 40 minutes. Cool in the tin for 10 minutes, turn out on to a cooling rack. If the cake isn’t left to cool, it will crack. I dust the cake with icing sugar using a paper doily to make a nice pattern, but a plain dusting would be just as nice. Store in an air tight container, eat within 5 days. The recipe serves 6, so far the two cakes I have made have served at least 12 each, for dessert.

When served as dessert, I think a nice french vanilla or vanilla bean ice cream is perfect, whipped cream would also be lovely. When I served it for dessert at my Dad’s house for my Grandparents visit I served it with french vanilla ice cream and chocolate wafer sticks for crunch. Very rich and dense, but lovely and moist with the sweet jam flavour left in your mouth after every bite. I would be quite happy to bake this cake every weekend it is just so delicious. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

My next post will be some kind of biscuit or cookie, a suggestion would be appreciated, otherwise it will be something Daniel picks. I hope you have enjoyed the last few posts and are looking forward to the next ones as much as I am.

Sonia xx

Leave a Reply

