Banana Choc Chip & Raspberry White Choc Chip Muffins

These have been my stand by muffins since I bought the first Masterchef magazine in 2010.  Easy to whip up for last minute guests or for week day lunches I prefer them with raspberries and white chocolate chips, I’ll give you both versions. Anyone who has worked with me or has been to our house for morning tea, afternoon tea or for a short notice dinner will have tried these and I haven’t had one person say they don’t like them yet. Described to me today at work as ‘deliciously awesome’ I think they will stay my stand by for many years to come.

Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

300g Self Raising Flour

150g Brown Sugar

200g Milk Chocolate Chips

2 eggs, lightly beaten

2 large ripe bananas, mashed

125g unsalted butter, melted

125ml Milk

 1. Pre-heat oven to 200’C. Line 12 hole muffin tin with papers.

2. Combine flour, sugar and choc chips in a large bowl.

3. Whisk together eggs, bananas, butter and milk in a jug and add to flour mixture. Stir until just combined.

4. Divide batter among paper cases and bake for 20 minutes or until golden brown and firm to touch.

5. Stand for 5 minutes then cool on a wire rack. Store in an airtight container. Makes 12 regular size muffins.

 

Raspberry White Chocolate Chip Muffins

300g Self Raising Flour

150g Brown Sugar

200g White Chocolate Chips

2 eggs, lightly beaten

1 cup frozen raspberries

125g unsalted butter, melted

125ml Milk

 1. Pre-heat oven to 200’C. Line 12 hole muffin tin with papers.

2. Combine flour, sugar and choc chips in a large bowl.

3. Whisk together eggs, butter and milk in a jug and add to flour mixture. Stir until just combined. Fold through raspberries quickly to prevent bleeding.

4. Divide batter among paper cases and bake for 20 minutes or until golden brown and firm to touch.

5. Stand for 5 minutes then cool on a wire rack. Store in an airtight container. Makes 12 regular size muffins.

For these muffins I made half banana and half raspberry. I just divide all ingredients in half and put them in separate bowls. Do the raspberry ones last so that the liquid that comes out of the raspberries doesn’t bleed through the mixture, if it does it doesn’t matter, it just makes them a pinky colour that doesn’t look nice after baking. I haven’t tried any other combinations but I imagine that blueberries would work well with either white or milk chocolate chips, or you could omit the chocolate completely. The base mixture is nice and sweet and the brown sugar gives it a lovely rich flavour. I have also done half batches just for Daniel and I, just halve all ingredients and the mixture makes about 7. Three each and one to “test” if it is cooked.

They are delicious straight out of the oven, just watch the raspberries because they will still be hot. Eat cold for about two days afterwards, after that they get a little bit hard, a quick zap in the microwave will fix it, but assuming that yours will be devoured as quickly as mine, I doubt that will be needed. If anyone tries the blueberry substitution I would love to know, or I’ll try it myself if I get a chance and post the results for you to see. Thanks to everyone who has checked out my blog ( 226 views  to date) there will be lots more in the year(s) to come and hopefully in the next few weeks I’ll be able to set the recipe tab up to work correctly.

Happy Baking

 Sonia xx

Leave a Reply

