Scrumptious Food Adventures in Sydney

A slightly different post this time to share with you some of the incredible food and desserts I had during our weekend away in Sydney for Australia Day. The first night we were there we ate at Jamie’s Italian. Jamie Oliver’s newest restaurant on Pitt Street in the city. It was reasonably priced, fresh and oh so tasty. For entrée I had smoked mozzarella and porcini mushroom arrancini and Daniel had a gorgonzola and radicchio salad. For mains I had traditional spaghetti bolognaise made with beef and pork and Daniel had arrabiata pasta. The pasta is made on site, fresh everyday and you can see it being made in the restaurant window. For dessert I had a chocolate, amaretto and raspberry brownie with vanilla ice cream (the recipe for which I am madly searching the internet) and Daniel had traditional tiramisu which he loved. All in all it was an incredible dinner and I can’t wait to find another excuse to go back and stay in the city to eat there again!

 

The next morning we headed to Balmain to go to Adriano Zumbo’s patisserie and we weren’t disappointed. As you can see from my excited face I was ecstatic to just be there let alone the fact that I scored a sweet stash of Zumbo’s creations. We walked away with 6 Zumbarons (Vegemite, Weetbix, Milo, Chocolate Chilli, Raspberry Caramel, Salted Butter Caramel), a mini V8 cake, a tastes like Doris (chocolate, orange, ginger) cake and a Passionfruit tart.  We had the 2 cakes and the tart for dessert that night (between 3 of us) and the macaroons the next night. I have to say that I was blown away, even having seen the reactions of contestants on MasterChef and having had people tell me how good his cakes are.

 

Everything tasted as you would have expected it to but 10 times better. We tried a Redskin Macaroon in the store and were blown away by how much it tasted like a melted redskin. The vegemite tasted like vegemite (sounds ridiculous) it was just so spot on, down to the level of vegemite like you would have on toast. The weetbix one had me giggling the whole way through, it was if I was eating weetbix from a bowl, just mind blowing. The milo one tasted just like the thick layer of milo that forms on the top of your glass. Chocolate Chilli packed a chilli hit into a delicious creamy chocolate centre and the caramel raspberry was surprisingly jammy tasting, with a caramel texture. Salted butter caramel was everyone’s “normal” favourite, sweet, salty, creamy and luscious.

 

The V8 cake was divine any way you ate it. I went for the all layers at once approach to get a taste of how all the flavours tasted combined together, Daniel went the layer by layer method, tasting each layer separately and deciding which ones he liked and didn’t like. I have never tasted anything quite like it, it had so many textures and flavours it was hard to put my finger one what the exact taste was, all I know is, it was sensational. The tastes like Doris cake, had a strong alcohol hit from the orange rum, but went beautifully with the other layers to combine into a chocolately, orangey, gingery, melty mouthful. And the surprisingly gorgeous passionfruit tart was anything but just a tart. Daniel’s Dad said it was the best dessert he had ever eaten and I have to almost agree. It was creamy and packed with passionfruit flavour, I’m not sure how he gets the flavour of a squillion passionfruit into a tiny tart but my goodness he does and it is brilliant. The pasty is perfect as you would expect and the colouring on the top makes it so very pretty.

That is probably enough baking critique (and making you hungry) for one week. All I can say is that if you get the chance to go to either Jamie’s Italian or Adriano Zumbo’s, do it. It is worth it and I wish I lived in Sydney so that I could go every week. My next post will be my Gran’s Apple Pie, as I bought some gorgeous apples in Sydney yesterday so hopefully they translate to a beautiful apple pie.

Love Sonia xx


Leave a Reply

