Gran’s Apple Pie

Everyone loves apple pie and my family is no exception. My Gran has been making this apple pie for as long as I can remember and at every birthday, anniversary or morning tea this apple pie would be on the table alongside the baked custard I made last week. This is the recipe for my Gran’s apple pie and underneath are the minor changes I made when I baked it last night.

750g Granny Smith Apples (8 medium)

250g Shortcrust Pastry (same recipe as the baked custard) or 2 sheets frozen shortcrust pastry

4 tbs sugar

4tbs hot water

Milk for brushing

  1. Preheat oven to 180’C. Butter dish/tin. Lay pastry into dish, overhanging the edges.
  2. Peel and slice apples, put into a saucepan with water and sugar and cook until soft, don’t forget to stir so the sugar doesn’t burn.
  3. Blind bake pastry base for 5 minutes.
  4. Pour in apples and brush lip with milk or water and put top sheet of pastry on.
  5. Secure edges and brush with milk, poke or slice some holes in the top for steam. Trim edges.
  6. Bake for 30 mins or until golden.

The changes I made were replacing half the white sugar for brown sugar, so 2 tablespoons of each and a couple of shakes of cinnamon to the apples while they are cooking. I also didn’t line the lid up to make secure edges, I tucked the top sheet of pastry over and around the apples. I also used a heart shaped cutter to cut a hole for steam and cut a few extra hearts from the little bit of dough that was left over for decorating. And just for an added hint of naughtiness I sprinkled caster sugar over the top before I put it in the oven.

The other person I have to credit for this pie is my darling Daniel, he got the job of stirring the apples while I rolled and cut the pastry. Baking is so much easier with an extra set of hands! Other than the extra pair of hands this is super easy to make. I made the pastry as soon as I got home from work and put it in the fridge wrapped in a piece of baking paper. After dinner, I chopped up all the apples and put those on the stove, preheated the oven and rolled and cut the pastry. Once it was all put together I used the little bit of water, sugar, apple liquid left in the bottom of the saucepan to make a little syrupy sauce that I spooned over the apples before I put the lid on.

After the agonising ten minute wait for the pie dish to be cool enough to touch, I sliced 2 slices out for Daniel and myself for dessert and it was just beautiful, warm, sugary, syrupy apples and crisp pastry. I was wishing we had some ice-cream in the freezer but it was lovely without anyway.

I feel a little bad for changing my Gran’s recipe so much, but having tasted my variation, I think she would be quite proud. The cinnamon made the tart granny smith  apples a little bit more flavoursome and not as bitter.

All in all I am very happy with my first attempt at apple pie and can’t wait to make another one, maybe a tray of small ones with lattice tops will be next. I have been trying to work out what to bake over the next few weeks, I have a brilliant idea for Valentine’s Day in two weeks but I am a little stumped after that so any ideas or suggestions would be brilliant. Thanks for checking in for the month of January, I have had 490 views this month so far, I hope I can keep it up.

Love Sonia xx

Leave a Reply

