Toblerone Cheesecake

Happy Valentine’s Day everyone! I hope you all had a lovely day filled with surprises and deliciousness. Today’s post is quite fitting considering Cheesecake is in my top 3 loved foods. Toblerone Cheesecake. In no way healthy but that is made up for with its ease and supreme tastiness. A big thank you to my step-mum Debbie for getting me hooked on making this as soon as I realised you could make cheesecake at home. This was a special request from Lauren, so I hope this is what you were looking for and be sure to give some to my Dad when you make it because he loves it!

  • 300g McVities Chocolate Digestive biscuits
  • 80g butter, melted
  • 2x 250g blocks of Philadelphia Cream Cheese (Don’t use the light one or it won’t set)
  • ½ cup caster sugar
  • ½ tablespoon gelatine powder in ¼ cup boiling water
  • 250ml thickened cream
  • 200g Toblerone (chopped or food processed), plus extra for decoration.
  • Bring cream cheese to room temperature; an hour out of the box should do it.
  • Line base and sides of a spring form Place biscuits, broken in a food processor and process to fine crumbs. Melt butter in microwave safe bowl.
  • Combine biscuit crumbs and butter in bowl and press into base of springform pan. Refrigerate until filling is ready
  • Beat cream cheese with electric beaters until smooth, add caster sugar, cream and gelatine into mix and beat until combined, stir through toblerone.
  • Pour over biscuit base and tap to settle.
  • Refrigerate for 3-4 hours or overnight. Sprinkle with grated or pieces of toblerone. Serves 8 (large servings)

Warning: The base of this cheesecake will set very hard because of the chocolate in the biscuits, be careful when cutting. Also it is very addictive!

Having made this cheesecake at more times than I can remember, I would say about 20 times I just had to share it with you. A friend of my Dad’s Lauren asked me for a cheesecake recipe and I knew straight away that this was the one to share with her and all of you. It’s no bake easiness is what draws me to it every time, especially in summer when you don’t want the oven on all day. I have also made this with melted white chocolate and frozen raspberries, but this needs to be eaten within a day otherwise the raspberries bleed through making it a bit soggy and sort of splits the mixture.

For Valentine’s Day this year we decided to stay home and do nothing, a simple dinner and a quiet night watching tv sounded too good to pass up but I decided to do something to sweeten the night up a bit. Mini heart shaped toblerone cheesecakes! I got 8 in total, so they will last a couple of days. I made a half batch to make these as a full batch I use to fill a 23cm springform tin. You could also use the full batch to fill a 20cm springform tin but it would be very deep, so a lot of cheesecake filling to base.

The filling is so light, fluffy and creamy. A completely different texture to baked cheesecake so don’t make this if you are after the dense and smooth filling that you get from a baked cheesecake or you will be disappointed. If I could teach Daniel to make this I would have it for my birthday every year as it is just so delicious and great for a sneaky birthday breakfast (naughty I know, but once it’s in the fridge it’s hard to walk past).

There are no really trouble points with this cheesecake, so long as you get the crumbs fine enough that there are no big chunks which are hard to press down and you don’t process the toblerone for too long (it melts if the machine gets too hot) you shouldn’t have a problem with it. Another option if you don’t have a food processor is to melt the toblerone in the microwave and stir through the mix so the mix is chocolate flavoured with the nougat bits through the mixture. I haven’t tried this but the recipe for toblerone cheesecake on the Kraft website does say to melt the chocolate so it must work that way too.

Alright enough of me saying how wonderful this is because I could carry on forever. But really believe me when I say this dessert will transform dinner parties and the fact that it needs to be made the night before makes serving it up even better, just take it out, slice it up and serve. Scrumptious and delicious!

Love Sonia xx

 

Leave a Reply

