Incredibly Easy Chocolate Cookies

This recipe came from my Nigella cook book and is called Granny Boyd’s Chocolate Cookies. I can see why they are Granny friendly, super easy and very very cheap. With only 4 ingredients you’ll be wondering why you didn’t think of this yourself. Same sort of texture as shortbread with a light chocolatey flavour makes these little mouthfuls endlessly moreish.

2 cups SR Flour

2 tbs cocoa powder

7 tbs caster sugar

240g unsalted butter (room temperature)

Preheat the oven to 160C and line 2 flat trays with baking paper. In a bowl cream butter and sugar together with a spoon until all combined. Sift in flour and cocoa powder and stir until it forms a dough. Do not add any liquid, keep stirring it will come good and form a lovely soft buttery dough. Roll small balls of the dough, about the size of walnuts and place on the lined trays, leaving enough space for them to spread a little. Once you have filled the trays, make fork press marks on the tops of all of the cookies. Place in the oven for 5 minutes then turn the oven down to 150C and bake for another 12-15 minutes. They should be firm to the touch but not hard. Remove from oven and place on a wire rack to cool completely then store in an airtight container.

I would tell you how many this recipe makes but it depends on your interpretation of a walnut. I would tell you how long you can keep these for but I don’t think ours will last more than 2 days, they are already 2/3’s gone! Just shows how delicious they are! As mentioned before they have a crumbly and melty texture like shortbread but the thickness and size make them more like an American cookie, it’s hard to describe these in any other way than with made up words.

I was about to get the beaters out to cream the butter and sugar when I decided to touch the butter to check how melted it was, by leaving it out for an hour it was incredibly soft and using the beaters would have been a waste of time, so just check your butter and you might be able to save on washing up like I did. They took about 3 minutes to mix up and about 5 minutes to roll and press, so really for 8 minutes work this stash of cookies is well worth your time either for yourself or as a quick present. I only made half a batch as I get quite frustrated rolling cookie balls and just want it to be over with, so half a batch does us just fine. I got about 46 out of the half batch, but they are small, just a bit bigger than a 50c piece.

If I had any complaints it would be to myself for not buying the lindt cocoa powder I saw last week, I think they would be nicer with it but the nestle does the job just fine too. Thinking about it now these would be perfect for cooking with children because it is a one bowl, one spoon recipe and lots of little hands makes rolling a lot quicker. I suppose you could add nuts or chocolate chunks to this if you needed something a little bit fancier, but I like them plain and simple.

This week there may be an extra post or two as my Mum is coming to visit and we have a special something planned for Saturday breakfast in addition to my normal weekend baking so keep your eyes peeled for updates. Happy Monday every one!

Love Sonia x

Leave a Reply

