Double Chocolate Freckle Biscuits

What more could you ask for at Easter? Double Chocolate with 100’s and 1000’s. Sounds perfect to me!

125g butter, softened

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 egg

1 1/2 cups plain flour

1/4 cup self raising flour

1/4 cup cocoa powder

200g dark eating chocolate

85g 100’s & 1000’s

Beat butter, sugar and egg in a bowl with an electric mixer until combined. Stir in sifted dry ingredients, in two batches. Knead dough on floured surface until smooth. Roll out between two sheets of baking paper until 5mm thick. Cover and refrigerate for 30 minutes. 

Preheat oven to 160’C Fanforced or 180’C normal oven. Line two oven trays with baking paper. Using cutters cut shapes from the dough and place onto the trays, they don’t spread so can be placed fairly close together. Bake small biscuits for 10 minutes and large ones for 12 minutes. Cool on wire racks.

Once completely cool, place chocolate in a bowl and melt until smooth. Fill another bowl with 100’s and 1000’s. Spread the tops of the biscuits with the chocolate and sprinkle or dip in 100’s and 1000’s. Set at room temperature. Store in an airtight container.

I have now made these three times, perfect all three times. Usually I use circles or stars for these but seeing as it is Easter I used bunny cutters and a dessert spoon to make egg shapes. I was surprised at how well a spoon works as a cookie cutter, but it is super easy and the perfect egg shape.

The mix is super easy to make and has a perfect flavour. Just sweet enough and just chocolatey enough that it doesn’t become too sweet when you add the melted chocolate and 100’s and 1000’s. You might need a second pair of hands to hold the paper when you are rolling out the dough because it is quite a dense thick dough. Otherwise I find these quite therapudic to work on alone. Mixing, rolling, cutting, baking and then carefully spreading the chocolate, then dipping and sprinkling with 100’s and 1000’s. It does take a while, and the first time I made these in 2010 I had my friend Adrie helping me because you do end up with a chocolate freckle hand by the end of it.  After finishing all the biscuits I did melt a little bit of white chocolate to draw on some whiskers and a nose on the bunnies. Not part of the recipe, just a cute touch at the end.

Daniel and his Mum both enjoyed these biscuits and I know I certainly do. The only issues I have with this recipe is that there is no way to halve it as I am a big fan of doing half batches and that is is double as time consuming as any other biscuits I have made. Definately one for a long weekend. I store these in the fridge just because it has been warm and the chocolate topping can melt and then all the biscuits get stuck together and you end up with chocolate up to your wrists trying to get just one biscuit. In the fridge they stay perfect and are quite nice cold.

Hopefully we will have some left for tomorrow, however I have started on an Easter dessert for dinner tomorrow night so you will see that next. Happy Easter everyone, I hope the Easter Bunny is kind to you and that you all have a lovely time with your family and friends.

Love Sonia x

Leave a Reply

