Simple Chocolate Chip Cookies

For those days when you want something sweet and homemade but don’t have a lot of time. These little cookies do the trick!


60g unsalted butter (room temperature)

1/3 cup caster sugar

½ teaspoon vanilla extract

80g chocolate chips (I use 50/50 milk and white)

¾ cup self raising flour

1 ½ – 2 tablespoons vegetable oil


Preheat the oven to 180’C. Combine the butter, sugar and vanilla in a medium bowl, you can use an electric mixer if you want, I just use a large spoon to cream it, less washing up. Once combined, light and fluffy add in flour and oil and mix until a dough forms, you may need a little extra oil or a little milk to make it fully combine. Mix through chocolate chips and roll into balls, I made 12, but you could get up to 20 small. Place on a tray lined with baking paper, 3cm apart and bake for 10 minutes or until lightly golden. Cool on tray and once cooled store in an airtight container.

This used to be my standby biscuit mixture, but since starting my blog I haven’t made them at all. Last night with the itch to bake but not a lot of time or energy I set about whipping up a batch of these. Teamed with some vanilla bean ice cream and smashed malteasers I made gorgeous ice cream sandwiches for dessert. They are simple and have a beautiful vanilla flavour, combined with a mix of white and milk chocolate chips they are just divine.

I have also made these with just milk, just dark, a mix of all three chocolates and some with nuts and fruit mixed in. If you are in a chocolate overload mood you can always replace a tablespoon or two of the flour with cocoa power to make a nice change. This recipe was originally for a basic biscuit topped with mini m&m’s for school lunchboxes, I have tried them with m&m’s but I prefer chocolate chips.

I do have to apologise for my lack of posting. Last week I made an Anzac biscuit tart with honey and lemon filling and it simply didn’t work out like it was meant to, it didn’t set and then after a day in the fridge the honey leached out and made the base soggy and it was basically just no good, so no point sharing with you. On the weekend I made a cake for an 18th birthday, which I will share the photos of in my next post, so its not that I haven’t been baking, just haven’t been baking things to share the recipes with you.

I hope you get a chance to bake these cookies, because they are a favourite of ours and when you realise how easy they are I am sure they will become a favourite at your house too.

Love Sonia xx


Leave a Reply

