Gran’s Malt Loaf

This is an absolute family favourite! I remember eating it all through my childhood and love it even more now!

260g Self Raising Flour

1 teaspoon bi carb soda

2 tablespoons golden syrup

2 tablespoons malt extract

300ml milk

1 egg

100g sultanas

Preheat the oven to 180’C. Sift flour and bi-carb together in a bowl. In the microwave, melt the golden syrup, malt extract and milk together and stir until combined and a golden colour. Beat egg and add it the flour mix. Add sultanas. Pour in milk mix and stir until all combined. Grease and line a loaf tin. Por mixture in and bake for around 40 minutes. Check after 30. Store in an airtight container. Serves 8.

“Traditionally” in the Clarkson family we eat this with margarine spread on it, why? I don’t know why, it’s just how it has always been, and its good! As someone who doesn’t have butter or marg on bread it’s odd for me to like it like this. Try it both ways. It has a soft almost spongy texture scattered with plump sultanas.

I only used 80g of sultanas because my lovely Daniel doesn’t like them. As he said when he tried it this afternoon, it’s really good except for the sultanas. But hey, I can’t always please everyone! This is one of those recipes you will either love or hate, for the same reason as Daniel or if you don’t like malt. The malt extract comes in a large tin from the supermarket and is about $12 you only need 2 tablespoons so you get heaps and heaps out of the tin. Oh and it’s a liquid, like golden syrup.

When I checked the cake half way through, to turn it around because my oven has a nasty hot spot, it had formed some kind of growth and the top was really hard. I have to admit I was worried. Once the cooking time was up I put it on the bench to cool. Once it had cooled for about 10 minutes the top softened and started looking more like my Gran’s. When I cut into it all fears I had melted away, it was perfect, I cut myself a slab and buttered it up. Just as good as I had remembered!

I hope that you get the chance to make this and it becomes a family memory for you too!

Love Sonia x

Leave a Reply

