Banana Nut Bread

Another family favourite, this time from my Mum’s family. Banana nut bread, possibly the weirdest mix of ingredients you’ll ever combine but trust me it is delicious!

50g Butter, softened

1 Egg

½ cup of white or caster sugar

1 tspn vanilla essence

2 ripe bananas, mashed

1 ½ cups of plain flour

2 tspns baking powder

½ tspn salt

¼ cup chopped nuts

2 cups rice bubbles

Preheat oven to 180°C. Grease and line a loaf tin. Cream butter and sugar together in a large bowl. Add vanilla and egg and beat well. Stir in bananas and rice bubbles. Sift dry ingredients and add to mixture. Add nuts and stir only until combined. Spread mixture in loaf tin. Bake for 40 minutes or until cooked through. Store in an airtight container for up to a week.

An easy mix and easy to bake and lasts all week long so you can have it all to yourself if you want. My Mum has made this for me for as long as I can remember and makes it for me nearly every time I go to visit. It is perfect for lunch boxes or morning tea and it is pretty healthy so even makes a pretty good peckish after dinner snack. Some of my favourite memories of camping when I was younger involved banana nut bread, breaking pieces off for a snack after swimming and playing.

This doesn’t have a texture like banana bread, if you make it and think it will be like that you will be bitterly disappointed. It is dense, moist, nutty and you can spread margarine on it if you want. You can slice it thick or thin or just break chunks off like I do. The best cereal for this is rice bubbles, however as I found out when baking this you can also use other cereals, I had to use half corn flakes because I ran out of rice bubbles. It works but it isn’t as nice. The longer you leave it through the week the more bananary it gets.

If you have small kids and they aren’t allergic to peanuts give this a go. Kids love it and I love it too, maybe I’m just a big kid at heart! If you are looking for a delicious warming scent to fill your kitchen with this weekend, give banana nut bread a go.

Love Sonia

Leave a Reply

