Melting Moments

In one word: Amazing. In two words: Absolutely delicous. In three words: Try these today! Melting moments from the Masterchef website, so easy and so so so good!

180g unsalted butter, softened

60g custard powder, sifted

60g icing sugar, sifted

1 teaspoon baking powder

180g plain flour, sifted

 Icing Ingredients:

60g unsalted butter, softened

1 teaspoon vanilla bean paste

2/3 cup icing sugar, sifted

Preheat oven to 175’C and line 2 baking trays with baking paper. In a mixer cream butter for 2 minutes or until fluffy, add in custard powder and icing sugar and mix until combined. Sift baking powder and flour together and add to the butter mix in two lots. Beating well after each addition. Roll into balls with the weight of 25g, I got 21 halves out of the mix. Place on the lined trays, leaving a gap between each to allow for spreading, press a fork into the top of each biscuit to make the line pattern. Place in the oven for 13-16 minutes or until light golden. Once baked mine were approximately 6cm across, if you want to make larger ones you can make 40g balls and this will make 10 halves. Place on racks to cool.

Meanwhile in a small bowl of a mixer beat butter and vanilla bean paste until smooth and fluffy, sift in icing sugar and mix until a thick paste forms. Use a dash of milk to thin if needed. Spoon into a piping bag with a large nozzle and pipe filling onto half of the biscuits. Stick the halves together and enjoy! Store in an airtight container, in the fridge if you want your icing hard.

After watching Masterchef on the weekend I just knew I had to give these a go. I have attempted melting moments before but with no success. These were fool proof. Baked by Julia on the show she won the challenge, hers also had home made raspberry jam in the middle, but that was a bit much to ask for a Tuesday night baking fix. Daniel loved them and kept coming into kitchen to “check” on me while they were cooking. I would definitely like to try the jam version on a lazy Sunday but the vanilla bean frosting is perfect for mid week.

I had no issues with this recipe. I chopped up a whole 250g block of butter to soften, the recipe only needs 240g but you lose some to the bowl, the spoon, the beaters and in my case the floor as well so 250g worked out perfectly for me. The biscuit mix seems quite wet when you first roll it but it works out perfectly, if anything I think the extra moisture helps stop them from cracking. I ended up eating the extra half last night for my dessert instead of a whole one, and I tell you what I think I might be onto something, half biscuits with icing, amazing!

Something about the addition of custard powder makes these even better, I have used that method before but this is the perfect amount, it makes a light yellow coloured biscuit which contrasts beautifully with the white and black speckled icing in the middle. I think the 40g biscuit suggested in the original recipe is too big, 25g worked perfectly for me and I am really glad I read the comments on the bottom of the recipe from other people who had tried it earlier in the day. If you get a chance this week or even this weekend, give these a go. I realised after I made them that Daniel and I had been together for 3 ½ years exactly yesterday, so they made a nice half anniversary treat, even if it was unintentional!

This will be this weeks only post but I promise you next week will be filled with awesome posts, being my birthday on Saturday I will be getting my bake on big time so will have heaps to share with you. Have a lovely week!

Love Sonia

 

Leave a Reply

