Five Minute Chocolate Mousse

Fast Ed from Better Homes and Gardens claims this is the simplestmousse ever and I certainly agree, not for the faint hearted!

200g dark chocolate

160ml water

Warm the chocolate and water in a heatproof bowl over a saucepan of simmering water until melted. Begin whipping with an electric beater, then set the bowl in a larger bowl filled with cold water and ice and continue whipping for 5 minutes, until thick and creamy. Spoon into glasses and chill until set, then top with berries and cream if desired to serve.

And that’s it. Five minute chocolate mousse but holy moly you have to love chocolate to eat it! The original recipe calls for 300g and 240ml water, but that serves 4 and we definitely didn’t need that much just for the 2 of us. I made 3 out of the 200g and I had to eat my glass over two days it was far too rich, but I think served with cream or some cake it would be perfect. Daniel suggested to me that it needed more cream, I kindly pointed out there was no cream and that is why it was so rich. Personally I prefer it that way, mainly because it was done in 5 minutes, no eggs, no cream, no multiple beaters, jut melt and beat and its done!

If you love chocolate and can handle the idea of eating about a third of a block of chocolate in one sitting then this is for you. If not I don’t yet have a suggestion for you but I promise I’ll work on it for you!

Love Sonia

Leave a Reply

