Salted Caramel and Chocolate Slice

The only way to describe this slice? Ohhhhh god! For more reason than one!

1 cup self raising flour

½ cup plain flour

100g macadamias, roasted, finely chopped

1 cup firmly packed brown sugar

175g unsalted butter, chopped

250g dark chocolate (70%), finely chopped

Caramel filling

2 tablespoons golden syrup

¼ cup firmly packed brown sugar

80g unsalted butter, chopped

3 x 359g cans sweetened condensed milk

2 teaspoons salt flakes, plus 1 teaspoon extra to scatter

Preheat the oven to 180’C. To make the slice base, place flours, nuts and sugar in a bowl. Using your fingertips, rub mixture together, breaking up any lumps of sugar. Melt 125g butter in a small pan or in the microwave until just melted, then stir into flour mixture to combine, Grease and line a 19cm x 30cm slice tin. Press mixture firmly and evenly over base, then bake for 20 minutes or until golden. Set aside to cool. To make caramel filling, place golden syrup and brown sugar in a saucepan then stir over a medium heat until combined. Bring to a simmer and cook for one minute or until bubbling, giving off steam and caramelised. Immediately add butter, salt and condensed milk, stir continuously for 5 minutes until thickened (do not allow to boil). Then spoon the caramel over the base. Bake for 15 minutes or until a darker golden. Cool. To make chocolate topping, place chocolate, remaining 50g butter and ¼ cup water in a heat proof bowl over a saucepan of simmering water, then stir until melted and smooth. Spread chocolate mixture over slice and scatter with extra salt, refrigerate for 30 minutes or until set. Cut into approximately 20 slices and serve.

I love caramel slice, so much so that I like to rate caramel slice. After having a poor to very poor caramel slice last week from a café in Fyshwick I was hanging out for a really delicious one. When my MasterChef magazine arrived I knew I was onto a winner. Salted caramel and chocolate slice, just what the doctor ordered! To make it even better the recipe is by my favourite contestant on MasterChef this year, Kylie. This recipe is easy enough to follow and provides such an amazing reward at the end.

Provided you don’t burn the caramel this recipe is really easy. It is just a little bit more special than an ordinary caramel slice because of the added salt in the caramel and macadamias in the base. The looks on the faces of those who are lucky enough to try your slice are priceless, the saltiness cuts through the sugary sweetness of the caramel and just works so well together. I so far have shared this slice with 5 people all of which had a very similar reaction of “ohhh this is amazing” somehow I don’t think it is my skills that warrant this reaction, rather the incredible flavour combination that is just so perfectly balanced.

The hardest part about making this slice for me, and hopefully not for you were the embarrassing events surrounding buying the ingredients for this slice. As if buying the amount of baking things I buy on a regular basis isn’t embarrassing enough, (with 3 tins of condensed milk, chocolate and sugar, it doesn’t look like I’m having a good day) I also had what shall be known as the supermarket incident of 2012. When scanning my groceries at the supermarket, which shall remain un-named in the hope that I can return there one day, the basket toppled from the basket shelf beside the scanner causing the milk to explode and gush 2 litres out over the floor, covering the rest of my groceries in milk and requiring 2 staff members, 2 rolls of paper towel and a spill kit to clean up. All while I had to stand there and wait because I had half a bag of groceries I needed to pay for and the other half were either covered in milk or smashed on the floor. A kind staff member replaced all the milky goods and eventually I was on my way a little more flustered than usual and really in need of a baking afternoon to calm down. This recipe provided the calm that I needed, stirring the caramel until it was a beautiful golden colour and it filled the afternoon until my darling Daniel came home and I could explain to him the mishaps of the day.

I took this slice into work and everyone loved it, feeling like slapping hands away from the container at times to preserve what was left of my new favourite slice, I gave in and let it be demolished. After all, that’s what the sneaky few slices in the fridge at home are for right!

Love Sonia

Leave a Reply

