Iced Sugar Cookies

A beautiful basic cookie with yummy fancy icing!

 

230g reduced salt butter (room temperature)

180 pure icing sugar

1 egg (room temperature)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 tsp baking powder

400g plain flour

 

Preheat oven to 200’C. In a large mixing bowl, cream together butter and sugar. Add the egg and vanilla. Mix well until combined. Sift the flour and backing powder together then add to the mixing bowl gradually. Mix well until a dough forms. Roll your dough on a floured surface. Cut into shapes using a cookie cutter, Place cut cookies on to a baking tray covered with baking paper and bake for 7 minutes until cookies appear dry but not browned. Makes approximately 24 cookies. Store in an airtight container.

 

Royal Icing for Cookies

 

500g pure icing sugar

30g Pavlova Magic (meringue powder, comes in an egg from dessert section in supermarket)

90ml water

Flavouring

Colouring

 

Sift icing sugar and meringue powder into a bowl. Add water. Mix using a hand or stand mixer on high until icing reaches a stiff consistency, add flavouring about half way through. Depending on desired consistency, add a little bit of water at a time to make a runnier mix. Separate mix into smaller bowls and colour, rememebering that the colour may change the texture. Also reserve a small amount of stiffer icing in case you need it for outlining. Store in an airtight container in the fridge for a couple of weeks.

 

I got this recipe from the facebook page for Latorta, a cake decorating store in Canberra. They do demonstrations twice a week, which I can’t get to because of work. Last week they did these amazing cookies and posted the pictures to facebook and I just had to try them out. The cookies are sweet, crumbly and very moreish. I found the dough really easy to work with, and I got 24 circles about 6mc in diameter and about 15 small hearts out of the remaining dough. I found cooking them without browning difficult in our oven but it has always been difficult to work with. I made up the full batch of royal icing and have used little bits at a time, a small amount tinted pink to practice with one the hearts and some bright blue  and plain white to cover the circle cookies with. I used the remaining to “paint” the cookies and I will kept the icing in the fridge for about a week after in case I got the icing bug.

 

Painting the cookies was incredibly hard, so hard I gave up after a few attempts and tried some other techniques. The painting is so pretty, it would be nice to make them for lots of different occasions, if only I had the skills to do it! I use gel colours for colouring the icing, it doesn’t change the texture too much. My favourite cookies ended up being the plain white ones with some stars and swirls and the blue and white stripes which I swirled with a tooth pick. I also made a name sake cookie with my blog name, but again my shaky hands don’t like to do pretty piping so it is a bit wobbly.

 

I would recommend making these to anyone who like fine crafts like cross stitch and sewing, it is the same kind of patience required with these cookies, so much so that Daniel decided to eat a plain cookie because the decorating was taking me too long. These cookies would be ideal for birthday parties and holiday celebrations or place cards at Christmas.

 

If you have the patience and the time, give these cookies a go. They really are very delicious once completed, and if you ask Daniel delicious plain as well.

 

My apologies for not posting for a couple of weeks, I have been on holidays and have a lot of blogging to catch up on, I hope to have it completed for you this week, stay tuned for glazed lemon biscuits, double layer sour cream chocolate cake and Daniel’s cheat birthday cake.

 

Love Sonia

Leave a Reply

