Banana Cake

What do you make for someone that love banana bread, that suits a small tin, and says it’s your birthday, lets eat cake? Banana cake! With cream cheese icing of course!

 

125g butter

330g sugar

280g very ripe banana, mashed

½ teaspoon vanilla extract

2 large eggs

100ml buttermilk

225g SR flour

½ teaspoon bicarb soda

Preheat oven to 160’C. Grease sides and base of a 22cm round cake pan. Line with baking paper. Place butter, sugar, banana, vanilla and eggs in a food processor or bowl of mixer. Process/mix for 2 minutes. Scrape down sides of bowl, add butter milk and combine. Sift flour and bicarb soda together in a large bowl. Add flour mixture to batter mixture and mix to combine. Pour into prepared pan and bake for 50-60 minutes or until a skewer inserted comes out clean. Cool on a wire rack.

 

90g cream cheese, softened

45g butter, softened

210g icing sugar

1 ½ teaspoons lemon juice

Beat cream cheese and butter with an electric mixer until creamy. Add sifter icing sugar and beat until smooth. Add lemon juice and beat to combine. Spread icing over top and sides of cooled cake. Store in an airtight container in a cool place for up to 3 days.

 

I have very little to say about this cake, super simple to make. However I haven’t tasted it but I am assured it is beautiful. I made this in a 6 inch tin which my Grandma sent me down from up north, I had been unable to find one in little old Canberra and she found one in an even smaller country town. Needless to say it needed testing out and what better excuse than my lovely step-mum’s birthday. It is hard to divert from chocolate cakes for birthdays because everyone loves them, but knowing how much Debbie likes banana cake/bread made this an easy choice. I halved all the ingredients for the cake and cooked it for about 45 minutes in the 6 inch pan, it worked perfectly. I made the whole lot of icing which was a little too much but I would rather have too much than a gap in the side!

I decorated the cake with pink paw prints made from fondant. I rolled out the fondant and cut it with little circular cutters and left them to dry over night. The cake I also left out covered by a large bowl so that the icing could “dry”, hoping to avoid the kaleidoscope that was Daniel’s mum’s cake earlier this year. It worked! The paw prints pushed neatly into the icing and stayed put without leaking colour everywhere.

I am sorry for having no comments on flavour, texture, moistness but I hope this thank you makes up for it!

“THANK YOU so much for the yummy cake – it was delicious and that icing was to ‘die for’!  I brought the rest of it for morning tea and everyone here loved it! YUMMMMMM”

If you want to impress someone this much I suggest this banana cake, give it a go, maybe even for Father’s Day this weekend.

Love Sonia

 

Leave a Reply

