White Rose Chocolate Cake

So naughty it will have you eating bits of icing that you swear fell off the side of the cake. Adapted from Australian Good Taste Magazine September 2012. This impressive cake is both beautiful to look at and delicious to eat! A fitting farewell to a colleague.

 

200g dark chocolate, melted

Chocolate sponge cake

6 eggs

2 egg yolks

1 cup caster sugar

2 tsp vanilla bean paste

1 cup self raising flour

¼ cup cocoa powder

1 tsp baking powder

White chocolate icing

5 egg whites

1 ¼ cups caster sugar

500g butter, room temperature, chopped

300g Cadbury Dream white chocolate, melted, cooled slightly

 

Preheat oven to 180’. Spray a round 7.5cm-deep, 20cm cake pan with canola oil. Line the base and sides with baking paper. To make the chocolate sponge, use an electric beater to beat eggs, egg yolks and sugar on high speed for 5 minutes  or until thick and pale. Combine flour, cocoa powder and baking powder in a bowl, sift one-third of the flour mixture over the egg mixture. Use a large metal spoon to fold until just combined. Repeat in 2 batches with the remaining flour mixture. Pour into the prepared pan. Bake for 45-50 minutes or until cake springs back when lightly touched. Set aside in the pan for 10 minutes to cool. Turn out onto a wire rack.

Meanwhile, to make the white chocolate icing, use a wooden spoon to stir the egg whites and sugar in a heatproof bowl over a pan of simmering water for 5 minutes or until the sugar dissolves. Transfer to a large bowl. Use an electric beater to beat on high for 5 minutes or until soft peaks have formed and the meringue mixture has cooled slightly. Add the butter, one piece at a time, beating well after each addition, until the mixture is thick and creamy (it may look curdled). Beat in the chocolate until the icing is glossy. Use a large serrated knife to cut the cake horizontally into 4 layers (I only did 3). Place one cake layer cut side up on a cake stand or serving plate. Spread with icing. On the next piece spread 1/3 to ½ of the melted dark chocolate over the layer and place the chocolate side down on top of the first layer. Continue layering with icing and the chocolate until all layers are used. Spread half the remaining icing over the top and sides of the cake. Chill for 30 minutes or until the icing is firm. Spoon the remaining icing into a piping bag fitted with a 1cm fluted nozzle. To pipe a rose, pipe from the centre outwards in a spiral pattern. Continue piping rosed in 2 rows over the side and top of the cake to cover completely. Place in the fridge for 30 minutes or until the icing is firm.

A massive recipe for a massive cake that required a massive effort. Not the ideal weeknight cake, more of an all Saturday cake but when an impressive cake is required on a weeknight I am never one to shy away. I did have Daniel questioning my intentions as 10pm approached and I still hadn’t iced the outside of the cake. I did however complete it and get a reasonable amount of sleep. When I saw this cake on the cover of good taste I immediately dismissed it, thinking it would be way too difficult but after a little reading into the recipe I deemed it doable.

This cake was a farewell celebration cake for our colleague Bernadette who has just started a new path in her life and has moved out west to Wagga Wagga. Having always been cranky with me for making such sugary and moreish treats to bring to work I figured, what the hell, a cake with 500g of butter in the icing is a perfect send off!

I loved this cake and would recommend you to make it this spring. The issues I had with this cake were, only being able to get 3 layers from the sponge, I had Daniel cut it for me because as anyone who knows me well knows I have very poor hand eye coordination and this extends to cutting in a straight line horizontally through a cake. The 3 layers still looked beautiful and really I’m not sure I would have had enough icing to do another layer. That was the other main issue, running out of icing. I’m not sure where I went wrong but I defiantly didn’t have enough icing to put flowers all over the cake. I did one single row around the side and some on the top. It would be nice to have it magazine perfect but hey, I did the best I could in the time I had. Flowers or no flowers this cake was delicious! I also think it would be amazing with vanilla sponge, but that’s just me, I prefer everything in vanilla!

Sorry about my lack of posts lately, Daniel and I have been on a bit of a health kick, hence the lack of baking, but don’t worry, everything I make will be up here and as the festive season approaches you will be overcome with the recipes I have for you!

 

Love Sonia x

Leave a Reply

